Policy Desk ยท Channel and playlist are assigned by the publisher at publication (proposed: Philippine Social Protection, SSS)

SSS Pension Reform Program 2025 to 2027: the 10 and 5 percent increases, who gets them and when, and what the early 2026 rollout changed

SSS Circular No. 2026-002 (signature date 20 April 2026) sets a three-year, percentage-based increase in monthly pension: 10 percent in each of 2025, 2026 and 2027 for retirement and disability pensioners, and 5 percent in each year for survivorship (death) pensioners, applied to the monthly pension consisting of the regular pension plus the P1,000 benefit allowance (Guidelines 1 and 3). It repeals Circular No. 2025-005 of 28 July 2025, which had put every tranche on 1 September, and advances the 2026 tranche to 1 June 2026 for pensioners eligible as of 31 May 2026, with pensioners whose contingency falls from 1 June to 31 August 2026 receiving it from 1 September 2026; the 2027 tranche stays at 1 September 2027 (Guideline 2).

Neither circular says whether later percentages compound; the SSS's own releases describe the later steps as additional and put the three-year totals at approximately 33 and 16 percent, which corresponds to compounding. This Drop sets out both circulars with citations, the SSS's stated scale, and an illustrative tranche reader.

Freshness class F3 (release-driven). Verified 7 September 2026. Version v1.1. Geography: Philippines.

10% / 5%per year for three years: retirement and disability pensioners 10 percent; survivorship (death) pensioners 5 percent (Circular 2026-002, Guideline 1)
1 June 2026effectivity of the 2026 tranche for pensioners eligible as of 31 May 2026; 1 September 2026 for contingencies from 1 June to 31 August 2026 (Guideline 2)
about 33% / 16%the SSS's own approximate three-year totals (release of 31 July 2025), which correspond to compounding; neither circular states the rule

Key findings

  1. The Program is a percentage-based increase over three years: 10 percent in 2025, 2026 and 2027 for retirement and disability pensioners, and 5 percent in each year for survivorship (death) pensioners (Circular 2026-002, Guideline 1; identical in Circular 2025-005, repealed by Circular 2026-002). There is no single rate for all pensioners.
  2. Eligibility for each tranche depends on the pensioner's contingency date against a cut-off: 2025, cut-off 31 August 2025, effective 1 September 2025; 2026, cut-off 31 May 2026, effective 1 June 2026, and for contingencies from 1 June to 31 August 2026, effective 1 September 2026; 2027, cut-off 31 August 2027, effective 1 September 2027 (Guideline 2). Circular 2025-005 (repealed by Circular 2026-002) had all three tranches on 1 September for pensioners as of 31 August; the 2026 change advances the tranche by three months for pensioners eligible as of 31 May 2026.
  3. The base is the monthly pension, meaning the regular pension plus the P1,000 benefit allowance; the dependents' pension is "adjusted accordingly" without a stated amount, and the increase "may be paid as a differential" to pensioners with in-process, pending or re-adjudicated claims, advance releases or suspended pensions (Guidelines 3 and 4).
  4. Neither circular says whether a later year's percentage applies to the already-increased pension. The SSS's release of 31 July 2025 calls the 2026 and 2027 steps "additional" and states that after three years pensions will have increased by approximately 33 percent and 16 percent; 1.10 cubed is 1.331 and 1.05 cubed is 1.157625, so those totals correspond to compounding. Applying each percentage to the original pension would give 30 and 15 percent, which do not match the SSS's figures.
  5. The SSS said the Program benefits over 3.8 million pensioners (31 July 2025; 2.6 million retirement and disability, 1.2 million survivor), is projected to inject P92.8 billion from 2025 to 2027, reduces projected fund life from 2053 to 2049 per its Chief Actuary, and needs no contribution increase; its 2 June 2026 release put the early rollout at 4.1 million pensioners and approximately P6 billion in additional benefits from June to August 2026. Figures are the SSS's own, at their dates.

The schedule (Guidelines 1 and 2)

Guideline 1, identical in Circular 2026-002 and the repealed Circular 2025-005: "A percentage-based increase in monthly pension shall be implemented over a three-year period."
Type of pensioner202520262027
Retirement / Disability10%10%10%
Survivorship (Death)5%5%5%
Guideline 2 of Circular 2026-002, as printed: "The pension increase shall apply to pensioners eligible as of the specified cut-off date, based on the date of retirement, disability, or survivorship (death), and shall take effect for each implementation year, as shown below." Four data rows; the 2026 label spans two rows. The second 2026 row places a date range in the column headed "Cut-off Date"; read with the lead-in sentence, it describes when the pensioner's contingency falls.
YearCut-off DateEffectivity of Increase
202531 August 202501 September 2025
202631 May 202601 June 2026
01 June to 31 August 202601 September 2026
202731 August 202701 September 2027
Guideline 2 of Circular 2025-005 (repealed by Circular 2026-002): "The pension increase shall take effect on the 1st of September of each implementation year. It shall cover pensioners as of the cut-off date of 31st of August of the respective year based on the date of retirement, disability, or survivorship (death)."
YearCut-off DateEffectivity of Increase
202531 August 20251 September 2025
202631 August 20261 September 2026
202731 August 20271 September 2027

The change made by Circular 2026-002 therefore advances the 2026 increase by three months, from 1 September 2026 to 1 June 2026, for pensioners eligible as of 31 May 2026, and leaves the 2027 tranche on the original September schedule. The SSS's 2 June 2026 release states the 2026 rule in plain words: pensioners as of 31 May 2026 receive the increase from 1 June 2026, and those whose contingencies fall between 1 June and 31 August 2026 from 1 September 2026. A further SSC resolution and circular could change the 2027 tranche as one did for 2026; none was found as of 7 September 2026, and this Drop makes no prediction.

On its face, a pensioner whose contingency falls after a year's cut-off does not receive that year's tranche; the circular does not spell out the treatment of pensioners entering after each cut-off beyond the eligibility sentence quoted above.

What is increased (Guidelines 3 and 4)

Guideline 3 (identical in both circulars)
"The percentage increase shall apply to the monthly pension, which consists of the regular pension plus the Php 1,000 benefit allowance. The dependents' pension shall also be adjusted accordingly." The base therefore includes the P1,000 allowance; a reader who counts only the regular pension understates it. The circular does not state the amount or rate of the dependents' pension adjustment, and this Drop does not compute it.
Guideline 4 (identical in both circulars)
"The amount of the pension increase may be paid as a differential to certain covered pensioners, such as those with: a. in-process, pending, or re-adjudicated benefit claims; b. advance pension releases; or c. suspended pensions awaiting resumption." This states a possibility and a mechanism, not a promise of payment or a timetable.

Do the increases compound?

Neither circular says whether a later year's percentage applies to the already-increased pension. The SSS's release of 31 July 2025 describes the 2026 and 2027 steps as an "Additional 10% increase" and an "Additional 5% increase", and states: "After three years, pensions will have increased by approximately 33% for retirement/disability pensioners and 16% for death/survivor pensioners." Those totals correspond to applying each year's percentage to the already-increased pension: 1.10 cubed is 1.331 (33.1 percent) and 1.05 cubed is 1.157625 (about 15.8 percent), Policy Desk arithmetic on the circular's rates under that reading; the SSS's figures are rounded approximations of the same result.

Reading each year's percentage against the pension before any increase would instead give 30 percent and 15 percent over three years. Those do not match the SSS's stated approximate totals of 33 and 16 percent, which is why this Drop follows the compounding reading and attributes it to the SSS's statements. The circular's text alone does not exclude the additive reading, so the reader below can show both.

Worked illustration (Policy Desk arithmetic, not any pensioner's amount)

Take a monthly pension of P6,000, being a regular pension of P5,000 plus the P1,000 benefit allowance, for a pensioner whose contingency date falls on or before 31 August 2025 and who is therefore eligible for all three tranches, on the compounding reading indicated by the SSS's releases.

Illustrative monthly pension after each tranche, in pesos; compounding reading attributed to the SSS's releases; dependents' pension and any differential ignored. P6,945.75 is shown to the centavo because that is what the arithmetic gives; the circular states no rounding rule and the SSS may round differently.
Pensioner typeBeforeFrom 1 September 2025From 1 June 2026From 1 September 2027
Retirement or disability (10 percent a year)6,000.006,600.007,260.007,986.00
Survivorship (5 percent a year)6,000.006,300.006,615.006,945.75

A pensioner whose contingency date falls between 1 June and 31 August 2026 has the 2026 tranche take effect on 1 September 2026 rather than 1 June 2026, three months later than a pensioner eligible as of 31 May 2026.

Illustrative tranche reader

Enter a monthly pension, a pensioner type and a contingency date. The reader applies the circular's schedule and cut-offs to those figures and shows illustrative amounts on the compounding reading indicated by the SSS's releases (with the additive reading available for comparison). Every figure is illustrative. It does not state what any pensioner receives: actual amounts depend on the SSS's own records, including the dependents' pension (which the circular says is adjusted separately without stating by how much), any differential payable under Guideline 4, and any re-adjudication of the claim, which can change the base itself. The numbers stay in your browser and are not sent anywhere; the reader asks for no SS number, name or other identifying data. For your actual amount, consult My.SSS or an SSS branch.

Entering the regular pension alone understates the base.

Enter the three inputs and choose "Show the illustrative tranches".

What the SSS said (its own news releases)

31 July 2025, "SSS to Roll Out Historic Pension Reform Program Starting September 2025"
The Program was approved by the Social Security Commission under Resolution No. 340-s.2025 dated 11 July 2025, "in line with the directive of President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. and following the discussion of Finance Secretary Ralph G. Recto with the President on the matter". The release said the increases would come in three annual tranches every September, a schedule Circular 2026-002 later changed for 2026; the 2026 and 2027 steps are described as an "Additional 10% increase" and an "Additional 5% increase". "After three years, pensions will have increased by approximately 33% for retirement/disability pensioners and 16% for death/survivor pensioners." The reform "will benefit over 3.8 million pensioners, including 2.6 million retirement/disability pensioners and 1.2 million survivor pensioners, and is projected to inject P92.8 billion into the economy from 2025 to 2027". According to the SSS Chief Actuary, it "will result in only a manageable reduction of fund life from 2053 to 2049, offset by stronger cash flows from previous contribution reforms and enhanced collection efforts", with a stated commitment to restore fund life to 2053; a projection, not an outcome. The Program "will not necessitate any contribution increase unlike the P1,000 additional benefit allowance given to all pensioners starting 2017". This release's line "September 2026 (for pensioners as of 31 August 2026)" was superseded by Circular 2026-002.
26 December 2025, year-end release
The Program is described as "annual pension increases for all 3.8 million pensioners every September from 2025 to 2027", with 2026 bringing "Tranche 2 (of 3)".
2 June 2026 (datelined 1 June 2026), "SSS begins early June rollout of 2026 pension hike"
The SSS "today begins the early rollout of the second tranche of the Pension Reform Program (PRP) to 4.1 million pensioners, advancing the originally scheduled September pension increase", and "is releasing approximately P6 billion in additional pension benefits from June to August 2026". Pensioners as of 31 May 2026 are eligible from 1 June 2026; those whose contingencies fall between 1 June and 31 August 2026 receive the increase from 1 September 2026. Finance Secretary and SSC Chair Frederick D. Go and SSS President and CEO Robert Joseph M. de Claro are quoted. The release's closing paragraph still says pensioners "will receive annual increases in their pensions every September from 2025 to 2027", which does not match the early June rollout in its own lead; this Drop relies on the lead and the circular.

The pensioner counts are SSS statements at different dates ("over 3.8 million" on 31 July 2025, "all 3.8 million" on 26 December 2025, "4.1 million" on 2 June 2026); this Drop does not reconcile them and does not attribute the difference to the Program. The P92.8 billion and P6 billion are SSS projections of amounts to be injected or released, not audited disbursements. The actuarial studies and the SSC resolutions were not retrieved.

The circulars

Circular No. 2026-002
Addressed to all SSS pensioners; signed by President and CEO Robert Joseph Montes de Claro and stamped 20 April 2026. Its purpose clause is issued pursuant to Section 4 of Republic Act No. 11199 (the Social Security Act of 2018) and two SSC resolutions: Resolution No. 146-s.2026 dated 08 April 2026, approving the early implementation of the 2026 pension increase, which the circular says "aims to provide financial relief to SSS pensioners amid the economic challenges brought about by rising global oil prices"; and Resolution No. 340-s.2025 dated 11 July 2025, approving the scheduled implementation of the Program, which "aims to provide stronger financial protection for SSS pensioners by ensuring that the value of their benefits can keep pace with the rising cost of living amidst longer life expectancy". As printed, the purpose clause reads "this Office Order is hereby issued", although the instrument is headed and numbered CIRCULAR NO. 2026-002 and its own repealing and effectivity clauses call it "this Circular". Section III repeals Circular No. 2025-005 dated 28 July 2025 "upon issuance of this Circular". Section IV provides that the Circular takes effect immediately following its publication in a newspaper of general circulation and the registration and filing of three copies with the Office of the National Administrative Register; neither date is in the retrieved material, so the exact effectivity date is not established here (20 April 2026 is the signature date stamp; the SSS's 2 June 2026 release says implementation began 1 June 2026). The repeal "upon issuance" and the effectivity after publication are reproduced as printed; this Drop does not resolve the tension between them.
Circular No. 2025-005 (repealed)
Stamped 28 July 2025 and signed by the same officer, issued under Section 4 of RA 11199 pursuant to SSC Resolution No. 340-s.2025; carried the same percentages and base, with all three increases effective on 1 September of each implementation year for pensioners as of 31 August.

Timeline

Sources

  1. Social Security System. Circular No. 2026-002, SSS Pension Reform Program, signature date 20 April 2026. PDF; listed on the SSS Circulars page. Retrieved 7 September 2026.
  2. Social Security System. Circular No. 2025-005, SSS Pension Reform Program, signature date 28 July 2025 (repealed by Circular 2026-002). PDF. Retrieved 7 September 2026.
  3. SSS news releases: "SSS to Roll Out Historic Pension Reform Program Starting September 2025", posted 31 July 2025; "SSS marks 2025 with pension reform and program upgrades; Looks forward to 2026", posted 26 December 2025; "SSS begins early June rollout of 2026 pension hike, citing need for early relief for pensioners", posted 2 June 2026. All retrieved 7 September 2026. The SSS site states that its content is in the public domain unless otherwise stated.

Policy Desk is a publisher on DropRegion and is not affiliated with, and this page is not endorsed by, the Social Security System or the Social Security Commission.

Methodology

Policy Desk retrieved both circulars from the SSS circulars listing and read the scanned pages by optical character recognition checked against the page images, including the four-row 2026 cut-off table, the signature dates and the resolution numbers. Rules are transcribed with their guideline numbers. The three SSS releases were read from the SSS news pages. A verification pass independent of the drafting re-read both circulars from the page images, checked every quotation and figure in the releases, recomputed the arithmetic, and ruled that compounding may be presented only as the reading indicated by the SSS's statements.

Policy Desk arithmetic: 1.10 cubed = 1.331; 1.05 cubed = 1.157625; the P6,000 illustration multiplies the entered base by 1.10 or 1.05 at each tranche. The reader applies the same schedule, gating each tranche on the entered contingency date against the circular's cut-offs, and offers the additive reading for comparison. It runs entirely in the browser, makes no network request, stores nothing, and takes no identifying data. The reading is Policy Desk's and is not endorsed by the SSS or DropRegion.

Limitations

Freshness

Freshness class F3 (release-driven). Checked and verified 7 September 2026. Events that would change this Drop: a further SSC resolution or SSS circular on the 2027 tranche (or any tranche), publication or ONAR details for Circular 2026-002, and any SSS statement revising the base, the dependents' pension adjustment or the differential rule. Next scheduled check: first week of October 2026, then monthly, with a specific check in August 2027 ahead of the 2027 tranche. Checking a source is not the same as changing this Drop; the version panel records changes.

Version

v1.1, 7 September 2026: three corrections from the first evaluation (the 31 July 2025 release's September schedule stated in the past tense with the later change noted; the repealed label added to two mentions of Circular 2025-005; the compounding attribution and the eligibility-rule label on each reader line; abstract split; the base note linked to its input). No rule, date or figure changed.

v1, 7 September 2026: first evaluated version. Drop ID D-20260907-dc00. Corrections and later versions will be listed here.