Key findings
- Meralco's overall rate for a typical household (a residential customer consuming 200 kWh) was PhP 14.7833 per kWh in August 2026, down 0.0428 from 14.8261 in July 2026, which Meralco stated as a reduction of around PhP 9 on a 200 kWh bill.
- Across the twenty billing months from January 2025 to August 2026, the rate was raised in twelve months and lowered in eight. The lowest overall rate in the series was January 2025 (11.7428) and the highest July 2026 (14.8261), both computed by Signal Trackers from the stated rates.
- From December 2024 (11.9617) to August 2026 the rate rose 2.8216 per kWh, or 23.6 percent; from January 2025 it rose 3.0405, or 25.9 percent, equal to about PhP 608 a month more for a household that used 200 kWh in both months (Signal Trackers computation; not a change in an actual bill).
- Ranked by absolute size of the monthly adjustment (a Signal Trackers computation from the stated rates), the four largest single-month moves were May 2025 (-0.7499), April 2025 (+0.7226, which Meralco attributed mainly to spot market costs), March 2026 (+0.6427), and August 2025 (+0.6268).
- Meralco states its bill effect for 200 kWh as the month's adjustment multiplied by 200, rounded to the peso; the tracker checked this against all nineteen months with a stated peso figure and it held in every one.
- In its August 2026 advisory Meralco states that a PhP 9.5 billion refund authorised by the ERC, equal to 0.5861 per kWh for residential customers over six months from August 2026, offset increases in transmission, taxes and other charges. In every advisory in the period Meralco states that its own distribution charge has not moved since a 0.0360 per kWh reduction in August 2022.
Monthly table, January 2025 to August 2026
| Billing month | Overall rate (PhP/kWh) | Rate bar (truncated axis: left edge = 11.00, right edge = 15.00) | Adjustment (PhP/kWh) | Adjustment bar | Stated effect, 200 kWh (PhP) | Advisory |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan 2025 | 11.7428 | -0.2189 | -44 | Lower Rates This January 2025 | ||
| Feb 2025 | 12.0262 | +0.2834 | +57 | Higher Rates this February 2025 | ||
| Mar 2025 | 12.2901 | +0.2639 | +53 | Higher Rates this March 2025 | ||
| Apr 2025 | 13.0127 | +0.7226 | +145 | Higher Rates this April 2025 | ||
| May 2025 | 12.2628 | -0.7499 | -150 | Lower Rates this May 2025 | ||
| Jun 2025 | 12.1552 | -0.1076 | -22 | Lower Rates this June 2025 | ||
| Jul 2025 | 12.6435 | +0.4883 | +98 | Higher Rates this July 2025 | ||
| Aug 2025 | 13.2703 | +0.6268 | +125 | Higher Rates this August 2025 | ||
| Sep 2025 | 13.0851 | -0.1852 | -37 | Lower Rates this September 2025 | ||
| Oct 2025 | 13.3182 | +0.2331 | +47 | Higher Rates this October | ||
| Nov 2025 | 13.4702 | +0.1520 | +30 | Higher Rates this November 2025 | ||
| Dec 2025 | 13.1145 | -0.3557 | -71 | Lower Rates this December 2025 | ||
| Jan 2026 | 12.9508 | -0.1637 | -33 | Lower Rates this January 2026 | ||
| Feb 2026 | 13.1734 | +0.2226 | +45 | Higher Residential Rates this February 2026 | ||
| Mar 2026 | 13.8161 | +0.6427 | +129 | Higher Residential Rates this March 2026 | ||
| Apr 2026 | 14.3496 | +0.5335 | +107 | Higher Residential Rates this April 2026 | ||
| May 2026 | 14.3345 | -0.0151 | not stated as a peso figure ("modest reduction") | Lower Residential Rates for May 2026 | ||
| Jun 2026 | 14.4833 | +0.1488 | +30 | Higher Residential Rates this June 2026 | ||
| Jul 2026 | 14.8261 | +0.3428 | +69 | Higher Residential Rates this July 2026 | ||
| Aug 2026 | 14.7833 | -0.0428 | -9 | Lower Rates this August 2026 |
The January 2025 adjustment is from December 2024's stated rate of 11.9617. The June 2025 overall rate (12.1552) is stated in the July 2025 advisory as the June rate; it equals May's 12.2628 less the June reduction of 0.1076. Every adjustment equals the difference of the two stated rates to four decimals, and every stated peso effect equals the adjustment multiplied by 200, rounded to the peso.
Scale a month's change to your own kWh
Estimated change in your monthly charge = the month's adjustment in PhP per kWh x your kWh. This is Meralco's own arithmetic: it computes its published 200 kWh figure the same way.
This estimates how much the rate change moves your charge compared with last month at the same consumption. It is not your bill. It does not include lifeline or senior citizen discounts, tiered residential charges, fixed items on your bill, or any change in how much you actually used. Residential customers in the Meralco franchise area only.
Without scripts: multiply the adjustment in the table by your kWh and round to the peso. Worked example in text: 300 kWh in March 2026, 0.6427 x 300 = 192.81, an estimated increase of about PhP 193 compared with February at the same consumption.
What Meralco said drove each month's change
These are Meralco's own explanations of its rate movements, taken from each advisory. Signal Trackers did not retrieve the ERC orders, spot market data, grid operator filings, or exchange rate series that would be needed to test them independently, so they are presented as Meralco's attributions, not as established causes. Where a component figure is given, it is the change in that component as reported by Meralco, not the whole of the month's overall adjustment.
2026 (January to August)
- Aug 2026 (-0.0428): Meralco attributed the reduction largely to a PhP 9.5 billion refund it says the ERC authorised, equal to 0.5861 per kWh for residential customers over six months from August; it said this offset charges from NGCP up 0.3024 (Reserve Market ancillary services), taxes and other charges up 0.2113, and a generation charge up 0.0296.
- Jul 2026 (+0.3428): generation charge up 0.1800 to 9.2504, which Meralco attributed to higher fuel prices and the scheduled one-month maintenance shutdown of the Malampaya gas facility from 15 June 2026.
- Jun 2026 (+0.1488): generation charge up 0.2762 to 9.0704; Meralco cited spot market (WESM) prices of 7.0281 per kWh and a Luzon grid Red Alert on 13 to 15 May.
- May 2026 (-0.0151): Meralco said ERC-approved measures offset a generation charge rise to 8.7942: the ongoing refund rate for residential customers raised by 0.2254 to 0.4278 per kWh, suspension of the 0.0371 GEA-All for May to June, the VAT exemption for indigenous natural gas under Republic Act 12120, and a transmission charge down 0.0493.
- Apr 2026 (+0.5335): generation charge up 0.5257 to 8.3864, which Meralco attributed largely to the peso's depreciation to 60.748 per US dollar in the March supply month.
- Mar 2026 (+0.6427): transmission charge up 0.2880 (Meralco cited a 70 percent rise in ancillary service charges from the Reserve Market), generation charge up 0.2209 to 7.8607, taxes and other charges up 0.1338, and a new uniform lifeline subsidy rate of 0.01 per kWh which Meralco said followed an ERC directive.
- Feb 2026 (+0.2226): transmission charge up 0.1975 (Reserve Market ancillary services and power delivery charges) and the universal charge for missionary electrification up 0.0770.
- Jan 2026 (-0.1637): a lower transmission charge, with generation and other charges also down.
2025 (January to December)
- Dec 2025 (-0.3557): transmission charge down 0.1462 and a lower generation charge.
- Nov 2025 (+0.1520): transmission charge up 0.1468 (Reserve Market ancillary services) and FIT-All up 0.0884 to 0.2073 per kWh, which Meralco said followed an ERC directive.
- Oct 2025 (+0.2331): generation charge up 0.1903; Meralco cited peso depreciation and the interim extension of its agreement with the First Gas Sta. Rita plant.
- Sep 2025 (-0.1852): generation charge down 0.2603 on lower IPP and PSA costs.
- Aug 2025 (+0.6268): generation charge up 0.3749, with IPP charges up 0.9476, which Meralco attributed to peso depreciation.
- Jul 2025 (+0.4883): generation charge up 0.3407, which Meralco attributed to higher world fuel prices following the Israel-Iran conflict and a weaker peso.
- Jun 2025 (-0.1076): generation charge down 0.1099 to 7.3552.
- May 2025 (-0.7499): lower generation and transmission charges; generation down 0.3144 to 7.4651.
- Apr 2025 (+0.7226): generation charge up 0.7278, with WESM charges up 3.4205 per kWh; Meralco cited tighter Luzon supply and a Yellow Alert on 5 March 2025.
- Mar 2025 (+0.2639): the end of a one-time downward reset fee adjustment of 0.2264 applied in February (which Meralco said the ERC ordered), a transmission charge up 0.1294, and a higher FIT-All.
- Feb 2025 (+0.2834): generation charge up 0.3845 on IPP and PSA costs, a weaker peso, and higher LNG terminal fees.
- Jan 2025 (-0.2189): generation charge down 0.1313 to 6.8358 on lower WESM and IPP costs.
Generation charge levels, where Meralco states them
Meralco states a generation charge level in some advisories and only the month-on-month change in others. The stated levels are listed below; months without a stated level are shown as gaps and are not interpolated. Generation is the largest pass-through component but it is not the whole rate.
| Month | Level | Month | Level |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jan 2025 | 6.8358 | Nov 2025 | 7.9000 |
| Feb 2025 | 7.2203 | Dec 2025 | not stated |
| Mar 2025 | 7.0517 | Jan 2026 | 7.7471 |
| Apr 2025 | not stated | Feb 2026 | 7.6398 |
| May 2025 | 7.4651 | Mar 2026 | 7.8607 |
| Jun 2025 | 7.3552 | Apr 2026 | 8.3864 |
| Jul 2025 | not stated | May 2026 | 8.7942 |
| Aug 2025 | not stated | Jun 2026 | 9.0704 |
| Sep 2025 | not stated | Jul 2026 | 9.2504 |
| Oct 2025 | 8.0008 | Aug 2026 | not stated (up 0.0296) |
Meralco states in every advisory in this period that its own distribution charge has not moved since a 0.0360 per kWh reduction for a typical residential customer in August 2022. That statement covers the distribution component only; the pass-through and regulatory components moved every month.
2026 refunds and regulatory items, as stated by Meralco
The following are Meralco's descriptions of ERC actions affecting 2026 bills. The ERC orders themselves were not retrieved for this Drop.
| Item (Meralco's description) | Rate effect, residential (PhP/kWh) | Period | Advisory |
|---|---|---|---|
| Refund of the difference between Meralco's actual weighted average tariff (AWAT) and its approved distribution tariff for January to December 2025, PhP 9.5 billion, which Meralco says the ERC authorised; shown as "AWAT Refund/(Collect) 2" | -0.5861 | Six months from August 2026 | Aug 2026 |
| Ongoing AWAT refund; Meralco says the ERC directed the remaining PhP 14.2 billion to be refunded over 12 months instead of two years, raising the rate by 0.2254 | -0.4278 (from -0.2024) | From May 2026 | May 2026, Aug 2026 |
| Collection of pass-through net under-recoveries for 2011 to 2022, PhP 8.7 billion, which Meralco says the ERC authorised | about +0.08 on average | Estimated 36 months from August 2026 | Aug 2026 |
| GEA-All (0.0371) collection suspended, per Meralco following ERC action | -0.0371 | May to June 2026 | May 2026 |
| Uniform national lifeline subsidy rate, which Meralco says followed an ERC directive | 0.01 | From March 2026 | Mar 2026 |
| FIT-All adjustment, which Meralco says the ERC approved | +0.1348 | From August 2026 | Aug 2026 |
| Ancillary service charge shown as a separate line from the transmission charge, as Meralco says the ERC directed | presentation change | From August 2026 | Aug 2026 |
Sources and evidence
- Manila Electric Company (Meralco), monthly rate advisories, January 2025 to August 2026, published in each billing month on the company's news and advisories listing at company.meralco.com.ph/news-and-advisories (posting day not captured; billing month certain); all twenty retrieved 6 September 2026. Each advisory is linked from its row in the monthly table. Text extracts are kept with the run record. Supports CL-01, CL-03, CL-04, CL-05, CL-06.
- Meralco, "The 2026 Oil-Driven Energy Crisis", company.meralco.com.ph, undated 2026 page; retrieved 6 September 2026. link. Context only; no figures taken from it.
Claim IDs (CL-…) refer to the Signal Trackers verified claim register CR-20260906-01 for this Drop. Meralco's rates archive page (news-and-advisories/rates-archives) redirected to the company home page at retrieval, so the advisories were located individually.
Methodology
Every figure in the monthly table is taken from the opening paragraph of the named Meralco advisory: the adjustment, the overall rate for a typical household, the previous month's rate, and the bill effect for 200 kWh. Signal Trackers checked that each adjustment equals the difference between the two stated rates to four decimals, and that each stated peso effect equals the adjustment multiplied by 200 rounded to the peso; all nineteen months with a stated peso figure passed. Every claim was independently re-verified in a separate pass, which recomputed all of these checks.
Signal Trackers computations: the cumulative changes (2.8216 from December 2024; 3.0405 from January 2025), the percentages (23.6 and 25.9), the count of increases and decreases (twelve and eight), the highest and lowest months, the PhP 608 figure (3.0405 x 200 = 608.10), the bar lengths in the table, and the estimator's scaling of the adjustment to other kWh values. The four largest moves are selected by the absolute size of the monthly adjustment. The estimator rounds the absolute product to the nearest peso and reapplies the sign, which is how Meralco's own -8.56 for August 2026 becomes "around P9". No figure was interpolated.
Drivers, generation charge levels, and refund items are Meralco's statements from the same advisories and are attributed to Meralco throughout. No ERC order, spot market record, grid operator filing, or exchange rate series was retrieved.
Limitations
- "Overall rate for a typical household" is Meralco's phrase for a residential customer consuming 200 kWh in the Meralco franchise area. It is not an average household, an average bill, or a national figure, and it does not apply to lifeline, senior citizen discount, tiered, or non-residential customers.
- The PhP 608 figure is the change in the rate-based charge for 200 kWh held constant across January 2025 and August 2026. It is not a change in anyone's actual bill, which depends on consumption, discounts, tiers, and fixed items.
- The June 2025 rate (12.1552) is taken from the July 2025 advisory, which names it as the June rate; it equals May 2025 (12.2628) less the stated June reduction (0.1076).
- The estimator scales the month's rate adjustment to a chosen consumption. It estimates the change in the charge compared with the previous month at the same consumption; it is not a bill, and it omits discounts, tiers, fixed items, and changes in usage.
- Drivers and ERC actions are Meralco's own explanations of its own rate movements. No causal claim is made beyond what Meralco stated, and no ERC order was retrieved.
- The generation charge series is partial; Meralco states a level only in some months. Gaps are not interpolated.
- The series begins in January 2025 (with December 2024 as the reference rate). "Highest in the series" refers to this 20-month window only, not to any longer history.
- The posting day of each advisory was not captured; the billing month is certain.
- The September 2026 advisory had not been published at verification on 6 September 2026.
- Component changes quoted for a month (for example, generation up 0.5257) are changes in that component as Meralco reported them, not the whole of the month's overall adjustment.
Freshness
Freshness class F2 (monthly). Last verified 6 September 2026. Monitored source: the Meralco news and advisories listing at company.meralco.com.ph; Meralco typically posts the month's advisory in the second week of the month. Next expected: the September 2026 advisory. Each new advisory adds one row to the table, one option to the estimator, and one entry to the drivers list; the cumulative figures in the key findings are recomputed on each update. "Updated" for this Drop means a new month added or a published figure changed, not a routine check of the listing.
Version
v1.1, 6 September 2026. Changelog: v1 initial build covering January 2025 to August 2026 (6 September 2026). v1.1, same day: added the qualification that PhP 608 is a change at constant 200 kWh, not a bill; labelled the largest-moves ranking as a publisher computation with its selection rule; marked the truncated rate-bar axis on the bars and in the caption; added the Meralco listing link to Source 1; stated the rounding rule in Methodology; noted that channel and playlist are assigned at publication; removed the audience sentence from the abstract; added the June 2025 derivation to Limitations. No published figure changed. Drop ID D-20260906-c4e2. Evidence package EP-20260906-01; verified claim register CR-20260906-01.